top of page

Intruder


'Mum.' I shout. 'Mum.' When she doesn't answer I freak out. Should I call the police? I try Mum's number but it goes straight to her voicemail. Where the hell is she without her car? A picture of Tara's Dad flashes in my mind. It makes my fists curl. I need her. Instead she's with a married man, My fingers dial Tara's mobile. It's kind of a reflex calling her in a crisis. Waiting for her to pick up, I'm not sure if I should have or not?

'Hey,' she says.

'Hey,' I say. My voice breaking. I'm crying.

'Someone followed me home from Fred's. A black car.'

'Are you alright?'

'I'm okay. Scared, but okay.'

'Did you call the police?'

'No, I wasn't sure if I should?'

'Where's your mum?'

'I don't know. She's not here and she's not answering her phone. Could you come over? I don't really want to be alone right now and I'm not going back out to my car.'

'I'm on my way.'

Tara hangs up. I walk to my room, switch on the light and keep it on low. I sit down on the carpet in my cupboard and shimmy behind the clothes, listening to my shallow breathing and imaginativly making up noises that aren't really there.

Shortly after my phone call, I hear a knock. I get up and slowly walk towards the front door. I see a shadowy figure in the dim light of the streetlamp from outside.

'Tara?' I say.

'It's me.' It's her. I open the door to let her in. She wipes her feet and comes in. She's about to close the door behind her when large hands grab the corner of it and feet gri the corner of it and shove her forward. Tara's head smashes my bottom lip open. Instantly, I taste blood. A hooded figure bully's into the house. We are forced into the living room. The noises and shouts seem so far away, although they are right in front of me. They are coming from me. I turn to Tara in fear.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page