top of page

Parent's Behaviour


We're at the end of our frappes and Tara's still acting weird. Preoccupied, like she wants to ask me or tell me something but contemplating whether or not she should or she shouldn't.

'Can I ask you something?' She finally says.

'Sure.' I say. Thinking this is it. This is the moment she is going to ask me about Dean. I don't know whether I should tell her the truth or not.

'Before I disappeared, were things between my mum and dad alright?'

Thrown off by this unexpected question, my shoulders' sag in relief. I was off the hook, for now at least.

'Ummm, what do you mean by alright?'

'Their relationship? Were they happy together?'

'Why do you ask?'

'I just get the feeling that things aren't great between them and I seen my dad packing away a blanket. I know he's been sleeping on the couch. They are hiding something from me.'

Thoughts of my mum and Tara's dad appear in my mind. Should I tell her about the fight I had with my mum, about my suspicions and accusations regarding her dad? I didn't know.

'They seemed happy to me.' I say honestly. She nods, fiddling with the straw inside of her empty frappe cup.

'I'm sure they'll be fine,' I offer. She smiles. No one talks for a minute and it feels awkward.

'Well, I better get going. I've got loads of study to do.' I say, getting to my feet.

'You didn't do it all at Dean's house this morning?' Says Tara.

My cheeks are getting hot.

'I wish,' I laugh nervously. She's watching me, but I can't read her.

'It was really good seeing you again. I'll call you okay.' I give her a squeeze and leave the frappe bar. I go to my car and get inside, starting the engine. I wave at Tara still watching me through the glass window. What I don't see is the somebody else who's watching me.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page