top of page

Can A Friendship Be Repaired? (scene 27)


My face feels tight from my fight with mum. Outside is dark. The light flashes on my phone, a familiar ring tone loud beside my pillow. It's Tara.

'Hello.' I say a little shakily. It's the first time she's called me since the disappearance.

'Reilly, hey it's Tara.'

'I know. I have your house number in my phone.'

'Oh, yeah, right. I wondered if I could come over? Or could we meet somewhere to catch up?'

She says it like it's the most normal thing in the world. I wonder if she feels awkward at all?

'Sure.' I say, rubbing my raw eyes and the last bit of makeup left on my face.

'Do you want to come over to my house?' I offer up.

'Sure. I've had the all clear to be able to drive again. I'll borrow Mum's car and ask her for the address.' She laughs.

'That's great.' I say, trying to be enthusiastic because she sounds so excited. But I'm distant with her. I can't help it. Things are weird now. Partly, I know it's because I'd let them get that way. I'd strayed from Tara since she went missing. It didn't suit us, acting out each other's roles: Tara and Damien, me and Dean. I feel embarrassed thinking of Dean after this morning. It feels so long ago, so much has happened: seeing Damien and Tara together, the fight with my mum. I'd spent the day in bed dozing, only waking up to cry again. But now I was ready. To face Tara. To face Damien. To face them all. I needed to know what was going on with her and Damien. Did I care? I guess I'd find out.

'Actually Tara. I could do with getting out of my house. My Mum and I had a fight. Why don't we meet at our place with the foamy frappes.' She's quiet.

'Ummm, sorry Reilly. I don't know um where, ah that is again?'

'It's down by the water. Ask your parents they know.'

I hang up and feel angry. I don't know why? I'm pathetic. I start crying all over again.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page