top of page

Tara in the Flesh, (scene 28)


Tara hasn't arrived yet. I'm already halfway through a large chocolate, caramel, coconut frappe and I need to go to the toilet. What if she's lost? What if she's had an accident? What if she's gone missing again? What if she's found out about me and Dean and she isn't coming? Get real Reilly. It's not like she's completely innocent hanging out with Damien, holding hands.

There's Tara now. The beams of her mum and dad's car headlights pull up into an empty bay outside of Fred's frappes. We had always liked this place. It had funky decor; the latest bands playing over the speakers and a menu that could keep you there all day, deciding what to have.

Tara gets out of the car. She looks great. Her slim physique rocks the patterned skirt and beaded dangly earrings she wears. Her curly hair crops up just above her collar bone. Her denim jacket hugs her body tightly. Without trying, she looks like a super model. That's always been the hardest part to swallow, being Tara's friend. She never even tries to look stylish. She just is. I suddenly feel really self conscious, beginning to fiddle with my grey dress and itch my really worn flip flops up against my ankle. How could Dean prefer me over Tara?

I wave at her through the window. She throws me a white toothy smile. I get up and give her a hug as she's about to sit down. I'd forgotten how nice it was to see her. To be near her.

'Sorry I'm late. Mum was late back from work with the car. I've told her I'll need to get one for Christmas. She told me I need to get a job and get one myself.'

I smile at the normalness of the conversation so far. My nerves evaporate a little.

'Sounds about right.' I say. 'How are you?"

'Good, yeah. No I'm good. Everything is good health wise. Little bits are coming back to me here and there. I saw you the other day, I think?'

'Yes you saw me, definitely saw me. I had to rush home I'd forgotten something for my mum and it was urgent.' I lamely lie.

Tara looks at the menu.

'Wow there are a lot of choices here.'

'It's why we used to come,' I say, looking into my frappe and fiddling with the straw.

'Oh, well what did I used to have?'

'The mocha, milk chocolate, marshmallow frappe was one of your favourites.'

'That does sound delicious. I'll be back.'

I watch as she goes to order at the counter. I take a long drink and look out of the window. A hooded figure quickly disappears behind a car. I keep looking and watching. My heart beating as I flash back to my bedroom and picture the image of the hooded stranger glaring in through my window that night.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page