top of page

Pushing (scene 26)


When I get home, I feel wretched and surprised to see Tara's parent's car in our drive way. I walk in to find only Tara's dad sitting with my mum outside in our garden, smoking and drinking coffee. It looks innocent enough from afar. But something about it just doesn't sit right with me. Maybe the fact that my mum only hangs out with Tara's dad and never with Tara's mum.

'Reilly?,' Mum calls seeing me staring through the window.

I walk out into the perfect temperature of the garden. Our patch of grass desperately needing cut almost reaching knee height. My knickers' swing shamelessly around on our washing line sticking up out of the grass in the middle. I redden, but Tara's dad doesn't seem to notice, or is politely pretending not to. Wild bushes alive and swaying in the breeze chirp and rattle with unidentified creatures' lost inside the throng of crazy brambles. Although it needed a bit of TLC. It was a nice space to sit in.

'I thought you were studying at a friend's house?'

'I was.'

'James came around to collect some papers and tell me all about how wonderful Tara's doing.'

'Hi Reilly.'

'Hi.' I say strained. 'How come you aren't at work Mum?'

'I thought I'd work from home, then James rang and I invited him over for coffee.'

I wasn't imagining James's demeanour changing underneath my accusing gaze. I knew I shouldn't, but I was in a cheeky mood to prod and poke.

'Where's Sandra?' James becomes further ruffled by my question.

'She's at home with Tara.'

'Hmmm I see. How come you two never hang out with Sandra? It's always you two? It's really weird and people talk.'

'REILLY.'

'What?'

'It's alright Davina. Me and your mum are good friends Reilly, you know that. Buds like you and Tara. Sandra is fully aware we hang out together.'

'Well Tara isn't. And Sandra is not with her so you're a liar on both counts. She's with Damien.' I spin on my heels and run to the safety of my room. Mum is screaming my name and apologising profusely to James behind me.

A little later I hear the front door open and close, then heavy stomping leading up to my door. Mum barges in.

'How dare you talk to one of my friends that way. How dare you talk to one of your friend's parent's that way! Have some respect.'

'That's rich.' I spit. 'Coming from you.'

'What's wrong with you Reilly? James and I are old friends who were just having coffee.'

'It's not right Mum. He's married! To my best friend's mother.'

'Don't you think I know that Reilly. Nothing's going on. We're just friends. Sandra and I have nothing in common, but James and I went to school together; we both work in real estate; our daughters are best friends. I don't have to explain myself to you. And if you or anyone else has a problem with James and my friendship then they can talk to me about it.'

'I know Mum. How about treating me with a bit of respect and the truth for once in this sordid affair.' This really pushes her. Mum's head shakes with rage and fear.

'Don't you ever speak to me in this way again Reilly do you hear me. And don't you ever speak to any of my friends so distastefully again, right!'

'Or what? I'm seventeen. What are you going to do ground me?' I was going too far. I knew it, but I couldn't stop. Mum looks like she wants to explode. Instead she stalks right across the room and slaps me hard. I grab my cheek in shock. Then scream.

'I hate you.' I turn and cry for everything that has happened that day. Mum slams my door shut and I roar like a broken child who wants a comforter but is not allowed one.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page