top of page

Stumble (scene 24)


After laying for a minute, we sit up in Dean's bed and put our clothes back on. I drink a lot of my beer as he goes off into his ensuite. The fizziness of the bubbles rush down my throat. My head's reeling from what just happened. What did just happen? My phone is ringing. I snatch it up from Dean's bedside table: Mum.

'Hey,'.

'Hi where are you?.' Mum says.

'Why?'

'The school just called me? Apparently you're not there? Should I be worried?'

'No, I'm fine. I just needed to get out of there. I'm studying at a friend's house.'

Dean comes out of the bathroom leaving wet hand prints down his jeans.

'Okay, I'll see you at home for dinner?'

'See you then, bye.'

Dean drinks from his beer. The silence is disturbed by his front door opening, someone's whistling. Then it's quiet.

'Mary?' It's Dean's dad. Dean mouths a swear word and scratches his face. I quickly empty my school books across his bed as heavy footsteps approach.

'Dean?' His door swings open. Mr Andrew's face screws up.

'Why aren't you at school?'

'Dad this is Reilly. We have English together. They were doing something we've already done, so we decided to study together for the exam here.' Mr Andrews looks at Dean. His gaze is so sharp, expressionless and intense I have to look away. Dean squirms under it. It feels like he stays this way forever, shuffling between feet and running his hand through his quiff of hair. His dad makes him nervous. He makes me nervous! I have to stare at my shoes. When I look up, Mr Andrews's hands grasp around Dean's throat so fast I jump with fright knocking some of my books to the ground, stunned.

'Studying my ass. Are those my beers? And is that smoke I can smell?' Dean's pinned against the wall. I don't know what to do.

'I think it's best you left. I don't want to catch you in my house with my son drinking my beers and smoking ever again do you hear me.' Hot sensations tear up and down my body. The feeling has gone from my face.

'Yes sir,' I mumble under my breath. I quickly gather my things and run from the room. I can hear Dean spluttering trying to speak to his dad. But his dad is like a Spanish bull charging at Dean as if he has a red blanket stuck to his forehead. Mr Andrews is still shouting as I stumble from the house, not sure what to do. I want to go back in. I want to help Dean, but I can't think properly. That's when I see them. Damien and Tara walking along the street holding hands. Damien looks up and sees me. Tara sees me to. We all just stare at each other.

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page